None of these things move me…

Acts 20:24:
But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

Paul had his course set and though he knew that trials and afflictions awaited him everywhere he was headed he said nothing would “move him.” Another way of saying this is, nothing would “lighten his ship.” In other words Paul was not like a little row boat that could be moved off course with every little wave and wind that came his way. He was like a heavy cargo ship that was going to keep on in the midst of high seas and gale force winds.

How could he do this? How could he keep serving, preaching, and teaching about the Lord knowing what evil things awaited him? The key is in this same verse. The Bible says “neither count I my life dear unto myself…”

It means he wasn’t holding on to his life. He received his course and ministry from the Lord Jesus and that was the end of the story. Paul’s goal, and purpose was to “testify of the gospel of the grace of God.”

Not only was Paul not going to be moved during this tough course but the apostle says that he was going to finish (implied already living with) his course with joy. That just doesn’t make sense to a me-centered life. That doesn’t make sense in a comfort driven world but it is the truth and the truth can set us free from a wasted life.

Leave a Reply

