Working Hard For The Lord

Are you striving, working, living, and doing for the Lord? Is it strenuous, exhausting, and demanding? Do you do it out of obligation and/or guilt?

Do you feel like quiting?

Paul was probably the hardest working Christian to ever live, yet he said as long as he lived, he was going to live for Christ! How did he keep it up and not tire out? What was the key to his spiritual endurance?

I believe we find the answer here in Col 1:29 and similar verses like Phil 2:12,13.

Col 1:29 – “Whereunto I also labour, striving according to his working, which worketh in me mightily.”

Phil 2:12,13 – “Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13 For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.”

Just like the teeth on a chainsaw cannot work hard to cut through trees without the engine within, so it is that we can do nothing for the Lord except He do it through us.

I like what one man said, “Without God we cannot, without us, He will not.”

God has chosen us and wants to use us, but must allow Him to work out what He has put within us.

The power and strength has been planted now we just need to get to know that source of power and let it saturate and shine through us.

Without this happening our works are fleshly and we are sure to burnout.

While Paul worked hard and struggled on the outside, God was at working to produce power and spiritual energy on the inside.

God will do the same for you and I. Let God be your source of strength.

I leave you with one last verse. In it Paul tells us that He rejoices that he is weak, because that is when Christ is strongest. In other words when we come to the end of ourselves, realize how fragile we are, how useless we are for God’s glory (apart from Him), He will become strong in us and accomplish great things!!!

II Cor 12:9 – “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Leave a Reply

