How I Do My Devotions

First realize how important it is that you have a time set apart for you and the Lord.

If God needed to spend time with God – then it follows that you and I definately need time alone with God.
Luke 5:16 –“And he withdrew himself into the wilderness, and prayed.”

I. Prayer – I usually start with a short prayer. Maybe something along these lines: Psalm 119:18 – “Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law.”

II. Pick a book – Right now I go through an entire book again and again throughout the whole month. Right now that book is Revelations. I also throw in another book just to shake things up and currently that book is I Thessalonians.

III. Portion – The key is not the amount you read but that you go away with something to meditate on, and share with someone else. Don’t get over zealous to the point that you get discouraged because you set too high of a goal. If you are just starting out then start with maybe 10 verses a day. As you build the daily habit of reading the Word then up the amount you read.

Maybe 10 verses, a chapter, 3 chapters, 5 chapters

*Read until something catches your attention – and then meditate on it for a moment – and then write something down from it. – and continue to think over it through the day.

Get a good study Bible – Life application study bible, or get a good bible program on your computer (e-sword/ The sword project)

    You can ask yourself some key questions.

Who is it talking to?
What is the book about?
What has happened just before this?
What part of the Bible am I in?
How does this apply to me?
Who is talking?
What is he dealing with?

Then ask one of the most important questions – How can you apply this to your life and how can you use it to encourage/help/challenge someone else?

I write my devotions out in such a way that when I am finished it can be a short devotional for someone else.

IV. Prayer – Close in prayer.

Remember don’t get discouraged if you miss a day – BUT don’t let anything come in between you and your time with GOD!!! A friend of mine, Trent Cornwell, says that he tells his teens that if they miss a day, don’t sweat it, everyday is first and ten.

Leave a Reply

