I KNOW YOUR ELECTION

Paul writing to his children in the faith at Thessalonica tells us how he knows these Thessalonians were elected by God.

Text: I Thessalonians 1
This is how I know your election:

1. Because our gospel came not in word only but in power, and in the Holy Ghost and in much assurance (v. 5)

It wasn’t something Paul had to work up. Paul came and preached and the gospel, the power of God unto salvation (Romans 1:16), made them into new creatures.

2. And ye became followers of us (v. 6) and of the Lord – even though you received the word under persecution, with joy in the Holy Ghost.

James 2:17 – 17 “Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone.”

If we are connected to the vine we will bear fruit.

John 15:5 – “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.”

If nothing is happening in your life as a result of your profession of faith in Him – then I would go back and check my connection to the vine.

Connection to the Vine = Follower of the Lord.
No connection to the Vine = Doing nothing for the Lord.

3. Your faith sounded out everywhere – all across the world. (v. 8)

Paul knew these people were the elect of God because of the way they publicized the Gospel.

Is there any evidence of this in your life?

4. You turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God. (v. 9)

Matthew 6:24 –

    “No man can serve two masters:

for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.”

I am not a proponent of Lordship salvation but I don’t think a person accepts two different Jesus Christs. Jesus is Savoir and Lord, at the same time. We don’t accept Him as savior at one point and then Lord at another. He is both, and a person who says he is saved but never gives Jesus His place as Lord in his life is probably not a true Christian.

5. And you are waiting for the return of His Son, Jesus. (v. 10)

II Timothy 4:8 – “Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that

    love his appearing.”

These people were anticipating the return of Jesus Christ. Paul says, I know that you are elect because only true children of God love His appearing.

Do you long for the return of Jesus Christ?

If Paul looked at your life – would he say, yeah, no doubt about it, this is a saved man/woman.
Or would he say, I am not sure about this person – referring to you.

Leave a Reply

