The Bottom Line

In John chapter 8 Jesus is straightforward and yet again the scribes and Pharisees totally ignore His message and continue in their blindness.

I love the clarity of Christ’s message in verse 21 as He told them, “I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.”

They thought He was apparently contemplating suicide but Jesus was speaking of His ascension. He said you will go on seeking me after I am gone and you will eventually die in your sins. In other words there is not going to be another Messiah, I am He, and since you rejected me you will die in your sins.

What a sad situation. Most likely those religious leaders died and went to Hell because the payment of sin is death (Romans 6:23). They will be eternally seperated from God in Hell which will eventually be cast into the Lake of Fire according to Revelation 20:14-15 which says, “And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. 15 And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.”

Application: Don’t die in your sins! Realize that Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. He died and paid your sin debt. You need only to repent and believe on Him to be your Savior!

Leave a Reply

