Let Your Faith REALLY Benefit Your Neighbor

James 2:14 – What doth it profit, my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him?

In the verse above James asks a very pointed question.  What good is it?  What use is it?  What benefit is it?  If we say we have faith but no works?  The answer is none!  Yes God looks on the heart but man sees our faith by our works.

I believe our first and foremost responsibility is to preach the gospel and make disciples but in that process our faith should be evident to our neighbors through the natural outworking of our faith.  God has shed his love abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost who is given to us (Romans 5:5) and that love should overflow into our everyday lives.

I found the following words very convicting in light of James’ question:

  • I was hungry and you formed a humanities club and discussed my hunger, Thank you.
  • I was imprisoned and you crept off quietly to your chapel in the cellar and prayed for my release.
  • I was naked and in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance.
  • I was sick and you knelt and thanked God for your health.
  • I was homeless and you preached to me of a spiritual shelter of the love of God.
  • I was lonely and you left me alone to pray for me.
  • You seemed so holy, so close to God, but I’m still very hungry and lonely and cold.[1]

Let’s be true followers of Jesus Christ.  Let us preach the Gospel and make disciples but don’t let formalities, programs, and religion distract or deceive us from BEING a Christian.

Christ gave us a greater law, a liberating law, the law of love.  The Love of God acting through you toward your neighbor is a sign of living faith – A profitable faith!

James 2:8 – If ye fulfil the royal law according to the scripture, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself, ye do well:

Don’t miss out on the everyday opportunities God sends your way to demonstrate the love of God to others in a practical way.


[1] Larson, B., & Ogilvie, L. J. (1983). Luke (Vol. 26, pp. 57–58). Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson Inc.

 

Leave a Reply

