Just a Vapor

Well, I just got back to South Africa after a two week trip to the states to do my grandmother’s funeral.  Thank you for all who prayed for us.  I’d like to say thank you publicly to all the pastors, churches, and friends that allowed me to minister to them.  I had a great and profitable time and am now getting back into the swing of things in South Africa.

The thing that continually blows my mind is how fast life goes by.  This may seem strange but when I go back to the US for furloughs or emergency situations it seems surreal.  What I mean by that is that though the time may seem long away from my wife and kids (and it did!!!) when the trip is over it seems like it went in a flash!  Almost like it never happened cause it is gone so quickly.  I really could say the same about my time in South Africa.

Really its kind of scary and sobering.  It really makes me want to “redeem the time” and make every moment count.  It helps me to stop putting things off til tomorrow when I have enough time today.  Life really is short – the Bible continually reminds us of this through comparing it to a vapor, grass that withers away, and various other ways.

Challenge – Make the most of today!  Check your priorities and if they are Christ-centered and God glorifying pursue them with all your heart and might.  If not, don’t chase things that will betray you in the end.  You have health today.  You have time today.  You have opportunities today.  Make the most of it cause the end of your life will be here in a flash!  Stop waiting/procrastinating to get involved in your church through teaching or serving dive in today.  Stop with all the excuses.

James 4:14 – “…For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

Leave a Reply

